Alec Guinness

British Actor Alec Guinness

Career Timeline

Sir Alec Guinness, CH, CBE (2 April 1914 – 5 August 2000) was an English actor. He was featured in several of the Ealing Comedies, including Kind Hearts and Coronets in which he played eight different characters. He later won the Academy Award for Best Actor for his role as Colonel Nicholson in The Bridge on the River Kwai. His is known for playing Obi-Wan Kenobi in the original Star Wars trilogy. He also played Prince Feisal in Lawrence of Arabia and George Smiley in the TV adaptation of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy.

Birth Date
Age 86
Marylebone, London, England, UK
  • Actor
  • Writer
Film Industry

Top Movies

Top Earning Movies


Year Movie Country Role Credit Ratings
1991 Kafka France, United States The Chief Clerk Actor 0.00
1984 A Passage to India United Kingdom, United States Prof. Godbole Actor 0.00
1977 Star Wars United States Obi-Wan "Ben" Kenobi Actor 10.00
1970 Cromwell United Kingdom King Charles I Actor 0.00
1965 Doctor Zhivago Italy, United Kingdom, United States Gen. Yevgraf Zhivago Actor 0.00
1962 Lawrence of Arabia United Kingdom Prince Feisal Actor 0.00
1960 Tunes of Glory United Kingdom Maj. Jock Sinclair, D.S.O., M.M. Actor 0.00
1958 The Horse's Mouth United Kingdom Gulley Jimson Actor, Writer 0.00
1957 The Bridge on the River Kwai United Kingdom, United States Col. Nicholson Actor 0.00
1955 The Ladykillers United Kingdom Professor Marcus Actor 0.00
1951 The Lavender Hill Mob United Kingdom Henry 'Dutch' Holland Actor 0.00
1951 The Man in the White Suit United Kingdom Sidney Stratton Actor 0.00
1949 Kind Hearts and Coronets United Kingdom The D'Ascoyne Family: The Duke / The Banker / The Parson / The General / The Admiral / Young Ascoyne / Young Henry / Lady Agatha Actor 0.00
1948 Oliver Twist United Kingdom Fagin Actor 0.00
1946 Great Expectations United Kingdom Herbert Pocket Actor 0.00

Popular British Actors