Joseph Cotten

American Actor Joseph Cotten

Career Timeline

Joseph Cheshire Cotten (May 15, 1905 – February 6, 1994) was an American actor of stage and film. Cotten achieved prominence on Broadway, starring in the original productions of The Philadelphia Story and Sabrina Fair. He is associated with Orson Welles, leading to appearances in Citizen Kane (1941), The Magnificent Ambersons (1942), Journey into Fear (1943), for which Cotten was also credited with the screenplay, and The Third Man (1949). He was a star in his own right with films such as Shadow of a Doubt (1943), Love Letters (1945), Portrait of Jennie (1948), and The Third Man (1949).

Birth Date
Age 88
Petersburg, Virginia, USA
  • Actor
  • Writer
Film Industry

Top Movies

Top Earning Movies


Year Movie Country Role Credit Ratings
1979 Island of the Fishmen Italy Prof. Ernest Marvin Actor 0.00
1973 Soylent Green United States William R. Simonson Actor 0.00
1972 Baron Blood Germany, Italy Baron Otto von Kleist / Alfred Becker Actor 0.00
1972 The Scopone Game Italy George Actor 0.00
1971 The Abominable Dr. Phibes United Kingdom, United States Dr. Vesalius Actor 0.00
1971 Lady Frankenstein Italy Baron Frankenstein Actor 0.00
1970 Tora! Tora! Tora! Japan, United States Henry L. Stimson, U.S. Secretary of War Actor 0.00
1968 White Comanche Spain Sheriff Logan Actor 0.00
1967 The Hellbenders Italy, Spain Col. Jonas Actor 0.00
1949 The Third Man United Kingdom Holly Martins Actor 0.00
1943 Journey Into Fear United States Howard Graham Actor, Writer 0.00
1942 The Magnificent Ambersons United States Eugene Actor 0.00
1941 Citizen Kane United States Jedediah Leland Actor 0.00

Popular American Actors